I am the resuscitation and the lie

By Shirley-Anne McMillan. The liturgy, written to close the event. We stood facing each other, lined up against two walls. As we spoke the refrain a bell sounded and we took a step toward one another. In the end we stood only inches apart.

I am the resuscitation and the lie.

We have lied to each other and ourselves.
I am the resuscitation and the lie.
We have let darkness inform our identity.
I am the resuscitation and the lie.
We have clung on to emptiness thinking that it will make us full.
I am the resuscitation and the lie.
We have looked for a message in the stars and missed the divinity of our flesh.
I am the resuscitation and the lie.
We have failed to see the miracle in the mirror and the holiness in the faces of those we face.
I am the resuscitation and the lie.
We have thought so much about tomorrow that we have missed the eternal in the now.
I am the resuscitation and the lie.

ย 

I am the resurrection and the life.

Now, now I notice the eternal in the now.
I am the resurrection and the life.
Now I notice my flesh and I am not ashamed of my being.
I am the resurrection and the life.
Now I have decided not to die.
I am the resurrection and the life.
Now I forgive myself. I forgive you.
I am the resurrection and the life.
Now I look you in the face and I notice God.
I am the resurrection and the life.
Now I look you in the face and I notice myself for it is in the shelter of each other that the people live.
I am the resurrection and the life.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “I am the resuscitation and the lie

  1. Cazi

    Wow. This is just wonderful. Even abridged, it was a powerful moment in the evening. Thanks for posting the full version. I have read and re-read and will again. Beautiful.

  2. Nice to have the hard copy, Shirley! Looking forward to the videos and photos.

  3. Thanks very much Cazi and Norah! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. loved it ๐Ÿ™‚ reposted on fb hope that ok if not i will remove

  5. thanks for sharing this, shirley — it’s beautiful. just seen some photos via the twitter. looks like it was an amazing night. made me miss you all muchly to know it was happening.

    keep breathing.
    love —
    c.

Leave a Reply

